## **GURU NANAK COLLEGE, DHANBAD**

A meeting of the Guru Nanak College Governing Council was held today the 2<sup>nd</sup> of August, 2015 at 11 A.M. in the Principal's chamber of the Women's wing of the College. In the absence of the President, the Vice-President Sardar R. S. Chahal was in the chair.

The following members were present:

1) Sardar R. S. Chahal - Vice-President (in the chair)

2) Sardar Diljaun Singh Grewal - Secretary

3) Sardar Tirath Singh - President, GPC

4) Sardar Jagjit Singh - Gen. Secretary, GPC

5) Sardar Jagjit Singh Sandhu
6) Sardar D. S. Gill
7) Sardar Palwinder Singh
Member
Member

8) Dr. Sanjay Prasad - Teachers' Representative

9) Prof. P. Shekhar - Principal

## **Proceedings:**

1. The meeting started with the death reference and two minutes' silence over the sad demise of Dr. A P J Abdul Kalam

2. The proceedings of the previous meeting dated  $\underline{20^{th}}$  of January  $\underline{2015}$  and emergent one dated  $\underline{20^{th}}$  of May  $\underline{2015}$  were read, and confirmed.

## 3. Matters arising out of the previous meeting:

- a) It was informed by the principal that inspection of B.C.A. had been carried out by the University and the college had been granted permanent affiliation for B.C.A. (self-financed course) w.e.f. 2015-16 academic session; and the same had been sent by the university to the Govt. of Jharkhand for approval.
- 4. The Budget proposal of the college for 2015-16 financial year was presented by the Principal, and was approved unanimously.
- 5. The NAAC accreditation report was presented before the council. The members congratulated the Principal, the steering Committee Co-ordinator and the entire team of teachers and staff for the successful completion of NAAC Peer Team

- visit. The college was awarded "B" grade by the NAAC, and this accreditation will be valid till 02-03-2020. Every year, the IQAC of the college will have to send IQAR to the NAAC, and again this exercise of accreditation will have to be started in 2019 for the second cycle Every member was unanimous that this accreditation will open the floodgates of funds for development of the college from various Govt. agencies such as UGC and RUSA.
- Every member felt happy and congratulated the Principal Sri P. Shekhar for haring been selected a member of the NAAC Peer Team for visiting other colleges of the country.
- 7. As for B.Ed recognition/ affiliation, the initiative was still to be taken by the N.C.T.E. New Delhi. As things stand, the college will have to wait for the NCTE inspection before taking any conclusive decision.
- 8. The following three members of the Class- IV staff were regularized in college service w.e.f. August 2015:
  - a. Sri Narender Singh
  - b. Mrs. Rajit Kaur
  - c. Mrs. Ramyanti Devi
- 9. Regarding re-advertisement of the vacancies of teachers, the Principal was authorized to issue advertisement of the vacancies only after obtaining a list of subject-experts from the University. The selection committee will be constituted after that.

## 10. Miscellaneous:

- (a) The Principal Sri P. Shekhar was congratulated for having been appointed Dean, faculty of Education, V.B.U. Hazaribag.
- (b) It was decided unanimously to pass the bill of the contractor S. Kamaljit Singh for payment of Rs. 9 lakhs by way of full and final payment for repair, maintenance and construction work carried out in the Boys' wing, Bhuda Campus.
- (c) It was decided to enhance the consolidated pay of following four teachers of the computer science department from Rs. 16,000/- per month to Rs. 21,000/- per month w.e.f. August 2015.
  - a) Ms. Pushpa Tiwary
  - b) Sri Ramesh Kumar Sharma

- c) Sri Uday Kumar Sinha
- d) Sri Amardeep Gorai

Sri Uday Kumar Sinha will, however, be given Rs. 1,000/- per month extra for maintenance of the college wesite.

The allowance of Rs. 1,500/- will be paid, as before, to Ms. Pushpa Tiwary for the work of the Joint Co-ordinator.

- (d) It was decided to raise the remuneration of all part-time lecturers from Rs. 150/- per class to Rs. 200/- per class with the maximum ceiling at Rs. 6,500/- per month, w.e.f. August 2015.
- (e) It was decided to pay Rs. 1000/- per month to S. Sarabjit Singh for the additional work as the Caretaker of the Boys' campus.
- (f) It was decided to enhance the remuneration to the following part-time workers from Rs. 2,500/- per month to Rs. 3,000/- per month w.e.f. August 2015:
  - a) Sri Avinash Bhadur
  - b) Smt. Manju Devi
  - c) Sri Rajendra Sharma
- (g) It was decided to pay the arrears of the difference of pay on implementation the sixth pay scale to the members of the non-teaching staff whose appointment is approved by the Govt. Bihar/Jharkhand for the period of 2006 and 2007 (twenty-four months). Payment op arrears after that will be borne by the Govt. of Jharkhand.

There being no other matter, the meeting ended with a vote of thanks to the chair.

(Diljaun Singh Grewal) Secretary